Riga This Week - FREE RIGA CITY GUIDE made by locals since 1992


Anna GĀGANE – clarinet
Hannakaisa NYRÖNEN – soprano
Jyrki ANTTILA – tenor
Erik ROUSI – bass
Conductor Tarmo PELTOKOSKI

Ēriks EŠENVALDS Visions of Arctic: Night
Richard WAGNER Die Walküre, Act 1

The Latvian National Symphony Orchestra will start the new season with two concerts on 6 and 7 October at the Great Guild Hall with the orchestra's Music and Artistic Director Tarmo Peltokoski taking to the stage along with soloists. They will be accompanied by clarinettist Anna Gāgane, presenting the clarinet concerto Visions of Arctic: Night by Ēriks Ešenvalds, the LNSO's composer-in-residence for the new season, in which he blends the voices of the soloist and orchestra with electronic timbres. In the second part of the concert, with Finnish opera singers joining in, the audience will be treated to a concert performance of the first act of Die Walküre by Richard Wagner. Here, Sieglinde reunites with her long-lost brother Siegmund, who pulls the sword Nothung from an ash tree trunk, allowing them to escape from the clutches of the wicked Hunding.