Riga This Week - FREE RIGA CITY GUIDE made by locals since 1992

Mozart. Mendelssohn. Vasks.

MOZART, MENDELSSOHN AND VASKS Similarly to how the names of Mozart, Mendelssohn and Vasks are a guarantee for excellent chamber music, the young musicians that will be playing on this night have already proven their excellent skill in solo concerts and chamber music projects in Latvia and around the globe: the pianist Agnese Egliņa, cellist Guna Šnē and violinist Georgs Sarkisjans are all nominees or laureates of the Latvian Grand Music award. Agnese and Guna have been a part of the Art-i-Shock ensemble for several years already, while Georgs is a laureate of many international competitions, the first violin of the Latvian National Symphony Orchestra and has a lot of experience in ensemble performance. For their first collaborative stage outing the ensemble has chosen the last piano trio that Mozart wrote in Vienna, Felix Mendelssohn’s chamber opus that made Robert Schuman call Mendelssohn the Mozart of 19th century, as well as Pēteris Vasks’s Episodi E Canto Perpetuothat the composer wrote in the 80s and dedicated to the bird-loving French composer Ollivier Messiaen.


Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) Piano Trio G major K. 564
Felix Mendelssohn (1809-1847) Piano Trio D minor, op. 49
Pēteris Vasks (1946) Episodi e canto perpetuo

Georg Sarkisjan, violin
Guna Šnē, cello
Agnese Egliņa, piano