Riga This Week - FREE RIGA CITY GUIDE made by locals since 1992

Autumn Chamber Music. Skride Quartet

Baiba Skride’s performances are naturally musical, with a fresh view, excitement and artless freedom. In parallel to a brilliant solo career that involves vast delight among audiences and critics and a partnership with outstanding conductors and globally renowned orchestras, the Latvian violinist is also deeply involved in chamber music. She is visiting Latvia with a new concert programme featuring the masterpieces of piano quartets. Along with an opus by the Austrian symphonist Mahler, there will also be the very first composition in this genre – a piano quartet by the Vienna classicist Mozart, as supplemented by a lyrical and fiery opus by Brahms. The premiere of the German romanticist’s masterpiece featured Clara Schumann at the piano, who was one of the most brilliant musicians of the 19th century. For this concert, the pianist will be Baiba’s sister and long-term partner in music, Lauma Skride. They will be joined by the French violist Lise Berhaud and the Dutch cellist Harriet Krijgh, both of whom are two young and promising musicians on the verge of global fame.

Skride Quartet:
Baiba Skride, violin
Lise Berthaud, viola
Harriet Krijgh, cello
Lauma Skride, piano

Gustav Mahler (1860-1911) Piano quartet A minor
Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart (1756-1791) Piano quartet G minor K 478
Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Piano quartet No.1 G minor, op. 25