Riga This Week - FREE RIGA CITY GUIDE made by locals since 1992

Autumn Chamber Music. Haydn Vasks

The passionate performances of violinist Lorenza Borrani move audiences and critics alike, and more so enchant and inspire the musicians who have been lucky enough to share the stage with her, united in music. The Italian musician brightly shines in all her creative endeavours – as a concertmaster and orchestra leader, performing with friends and colleagues in different chamber ensembles, as well as a brilliant soloist. Her repertoire has similarly broad range, echoed in this diverse programme: Pēteris Vasks' serene “Epiphany” contrasts with Alfred Schnittke's expressive Sonata, and the latter's flirtation with Vienna Classical style is performed back-to-back with authentic Classical composition.

Lorenza Borrani, violin and leader
Marta Spārniņa, violin
Sinfonietta Rīga

Alfred Schnittke (1934-1998) Sonata No. 1 (arrangement for violin and chamber orchestra)
Pēteris Vasks (1946) “Epiphany”
Alfred Schnittke Moz-Art à la Haydn for two violins and string orchestra
Joseph Haydn (1732-1809) Symphony No.103 in E-flat major, Hob. I:103 (“Drumroll”)